World Am is in full swing

Good morning from rainy Myrtle Beach! Of course it is raining…the World Am is in town! The Golf.com World Amateur Handicap Championship has been played in Myrtle Beach For 29 years now. It has more than 3,000 folders from all 50 states and more than 20 foreign countries and rain. I have to laugh. I have live in Myrtle Beach for 14 years and it always rains during the week of the World Am. This time it is the effects of Hurricane Issac that have reached the Carolinas.

But I digress. This is an amazing event. It is 3,000+ golfers, playing over 50 courses along the Grand Strand, over 4 days. Every night once play is done the participants and their guests (spouses) get to enjoy “The World’s Largest 19th Hole” at the Myrtle Beach Convention Center. It is catered by a variety of restaurants in Myrtle Beach an provides free drinks and live entertainment. It also has vendor booths, demo areas and on-site instruction from PGA professionals.

This venue is truly incredible. People roaming around, cocktail in hand commiserating on how bad they played that day or in some cases how well. Then they discuss the courses they played. Most enjoy the courses, but there always the one that say it was terrible (probably because they shot 10 strokes over their handicap that day). But there are people from all over the country and the world in one place soon the same thing….taking golf. I sold a driver to a guy that was from France. The only words of each other that we could understand were the golf terms as he was describing what he was looking for in a driver and I was trying to tell him how great the Razor Eclipse driver was and what the price was. But we were still 2 guys talking golf!!! Awesome experience!!!

I do not play in the event. I have to work during the day. But each year I work a vendor booth for Razor Golf. They are a club manufacturer out of Tampa, FL. The owner is a friend and in return for my labor I receive food, drinks, and most importantly, any new clubs that Razor Golf has developed!!

So I look forward to the next three nights at the “19th Hole” and chatting it up with the golfers from around the world. I will eat some great food. I will have a few cocktails. I will make some new friends. And when it is all said and done I will watch them all leave town and start looking forward to next year as I say “I really need to play in this thing one of these years!”. Just like I do every year.

Leave a Reply

